Tried & True: avaPET Deodorizer

When I started blogging about my journey toward a safer home with less toxins and more natural foods, cosmetics, cleaners, etc., I never would have guessed the first Ava Anderson Non Toxic product I’d have anything to say about would be the Pet Deodorizer. Seriously. And it’s not because I thought the product would be inferior in any way… just that when glancing through Ava’s catalog and learning about the different product categories available, reading about the avaPET line didn’t necessarily ruffle any personal feathers. You see… we don’t have pets.

Now I imagine you’re wondering how on earth someone who doesn’t have pets–at all, ever–would wake up one day and decide, “Hmmm… what should I do today? Oh, I know. I’ll give that Pet deodorizer a shot.” But I did. Just for kicks and giggles, you know.  Well, that and I got a super tip from a fellow avaFAN. Afterall, my addiction to this whole lifestyle change is ALL HER FAULT. (Not really. I blame the critically flawed system of regulations currently in place, but my friend–Tiffany–inspired me ever so much that I will forever be indebted to her and therefore “blame” this new fascination with all things better-for-my-family on her having shared with me a message that would change my life!) So of course I’m now trying out things I NEVER would have imagined using. Ever.

Like avaPET deodorizer.
A pet deodorizer sold in a 2-pack, by the way.
You know… for me and my scads of nonexistent pets. But… what the heck. Order up!

prod_petDeodorizerJust so you know… I don’t typically buy things just because someone tells me to. I’m one of those gals that likes to do her own research, weigh all her options (especially the financial ones), and when possible, try-before-I-buy.  That being said, when someone actually RAVES about a product, I do admittedly tend to take their word for it. Case in point–I bought a 2-pack of PET DEODORIZER.

Why? Well, because it’s not just for pets and I have a trash can full of dirty diapers, food scraps and your typical kitchen-type trash that no longer smells to prove it. That’s right, folks. The avaPET deodorizer is a toxic-free, smelly good substance that neutralizes odor with absolute ease. I put it to the test with all of our trash cans (indoor and out) and Tiffany was right–it’s like Febreze, only cleaner smelling (natural fragrance vs. synthetic fragrance) and without the added preservatives and toxic–often carcinogenic–ingredients unsafe for my family and therefore unwelcome in my home.

We may never have a pet in this house (thanks to allergies), but I can pretty much guarantee we’ll always have this stuff around neutralizing our trash can orders, freshening up our shoes and gym clothes, and well… just spraying around randomly because it smells clean and I like clean!

Apples to Apples:
Febreze Air Effects Pet Odor Eliminator Ingredients: Nitrogen, Water (Purified), Alcohol, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Fragrance, Dialkyl Sodium Sulfosuccinate, Polyacrylate, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzisothiazolinone, Cyclodextrin
Walmart Price: $9.97 for 9 fl oz* (+ $6.97 shipping) = $1.10/oz before shipping

Ava Anderson Non Toxic Pet Deodorizer Ingredients: citrus sinensis (organic orange essential oil), citrus limonum (organic lemon essential oil), citrus nobilis (organic mandarin essential oil), amyris oil (amyris balsamifera), peru balsam oil (myroxylon pereirae), enzymes (Protease, Lipase, Amylase, Cellulase & Urease), and rosemary oil (as a preservative).
Ava Price: $12.48 for 16 fl oz* (+ $4.50 shipping***) = $.78/oz before shipping

*Walmart Price as of 11/15/13. Shipped by toolking.com.
**avaPET Deodorizer sold as a 2-pack for $24.95.
***Ava shipping rates vary depending on volume. Orders less than $25 ship for $4.50.

One thought on “Tried & True: avaPET Deodorizer

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Ava – Pet Shampoo & Conditioner | Free & Clear

Leave a comment